

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

### **OFFICERS**

ASHANTI BLAIZE-HOPKINS
President
NATHAN SOLIS
Vice President
ELIZABETH MARCELLINO
Treasurer
RICK MONTANEZ
Secretary
DAVID ZAHNISER
Immediate Past President

#### **BOARD MEMBERS**

PENNY AREVALO
JOEL BELLMAN
KATE CAGLE
ALEXI CHIDBACHIAN
BENJAMIN DAVIS
XAVIER HIGGS
BRITTNY MEJIA
FRANK MOTTEK
RICHARD SAXTON
ROBERTA WAX

### ASSOCIATE BOARD MEMBERS

TOM BRAY LORI STREIFLER NATALIE WINDSOR

## SPJ/LA Names Distinguished Journalists Honorees for 2022



# Distinguished Journalists Awards banquet set for Oct. 19

The Greater Los Angeles Pro chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists will honor six local journalists, two student journalists and a First Amendment champion at its Distinguished Journalists Awards Banquet on Oct. 19 at the Omni Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

The honorees include longtime journalists in print, television, audio and digital media, as well as two-and four-year student journalists. The award winners are:

- NEWSPAPER/PRINT (larger circulation): **Doug Smith**; staff writer, *Los* Angeles Times
- NEWSPAPER/PRINT (smaller circulation): Alessandra Bergamin, freelance journalist
- TELEVISION: Kelvin Washington, anchor, Spectrum News 1
- AUDIO: lan Masters, broadcast journalist and host of nationally syndicated news radio program Background Briefing
- DIGITAL: Lexis-Olivier Ray, investigative multimedia reporter, LA Taco
- VISUAL: Rick Adams, photojournalist, formerly Spectrum News 1

The chapter will also recognize the work of two student journalists: recent Loyola Marymount University graduate **Verónica Bäcker-Peral**; and Santa Monica College student **Guadalupe Perez**.

The Freedom of Information Award will go to **Duffy Carolan**, a partner at the law firm Jassy Vick Carolan.

SPJ/LA presents the Distinguished Journalists awards to members of the profession who demonstrate good news judgment, a strong sense of ethics and a passion for getting the story right. Honorees have achieved a record of career accomplishments. For more than four decades, the chapter has recognized reporters, editors and photographers in print and broadcast journalism.

Since 1997, the chapter has honored journalists in four categories: television, radio, newspapers with a circulation of less than 90,000 and newspapers with a circulation of 90,000 or more.

The Distinguished Work in New Media award, now simply the Distinguished Journalist award in the digital category, was created in 2008 and is given to a journalist who uses digital media's unique characteristics and capabilities while striving to uphold traditional journalism's highest standards of

honesty, accuracy, responsibility and accountability.

This year categories were added to recognize visual journalists, audio journalists, including podcasters, and student journalists for their body of work.

The Freedom of Information award honors a nonjournalist who has helped promote First Amendment issues. Previous winners have worked in the legal profession, academia, government, and nonprofit organizations.

Detailed information about the banquet, including how to purchase tickets to the in-person event, will be coming soon. For banquet questions, please email <a href="mailto:spilosangeles@gmail.com">spilosangeles@gmail.com</a>.

For more information about SPJ/LA, visit <a href="https://www.spjla.org">www.spjla.org</a>

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation's largest and most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to promoting high standards of ethical behavior and encouraging the free practice of journalism. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press. The Greater Los Angeles professional chapter was chartered 25 years later in 1934.

###







Copyright © 2022 SPJLA, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails? You can <u>update your preferences</u> or <u>unsubscribe from this list</u>.